Feliz San Valentin

I’ve never been the most excited about February 14.

I mean I have to admit that I had my moments as a teenager–you know, you get all the tingly feelings when you receive a gift or two from your special someone (or from other admirers too if you’re that in demand lol). Yeah…I remember those days. It made me feel important all of a sudden, like I exist even just for a day out of the whole year. But I looking back I don’t think it made a difference at all; I’m still the same person who doesn’t give a rat’s ass about holidays or money making celebrations such as Valentine’s day and receiving gifts in general. I don’t even like celebrating my own birthday to be quite honest with who ever is reading this. I’m not ungrateful, though, I just feel very uncomfortable every time someone hands me anything even if it’s not wrapped in the most decent wrapping paper or if doesn’t have a fluffy ribbon on it. Maybe I just cannot wrap my head around the fact that receiving gifts from people who love you is normal.

But I’m working on it, I’m not always the bad guy. I’m trying my best to be more appreciative of even the simple gestures people show me because I know that doing so would make them feel that their efforts are worth it. Because I know that I would feel the same way if that were me.

So this Valentine’s day I didn’t get any chocolates, flowers or a stuffed animal–no fancy dates too (huge thanks to whatever it is I ate that made me sick). Instead I got a Youtube URL and I could not ask for more! This is more than enough to make my heart smile. I don’t need more cavities or decayed roses in vases, just the thought of someone making ways to make me happy every single day is all that I’ll ever need. And it got me thinking, “how can I hate Valentine’s day now?”.

Leave a Reply

