Soul Surf 11

This is a long overdue post but whatever.

The 11th surf break in Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union occurred on October 28, 2016. For those who are curious as to what this Soul Surf thing is: it’s a “surfing, music and arts festival” where people from the Philippines and also from around the world gather for the weekend. It’s been one of the hottest party destinations since 2005, and I am more than glad to have been part of this amazing event for the last 3 years.

As we all know, the Philippine archipelago is composed of an estimated number of 7,101 islands which means there are plenty of other beaches waiting to be visited an awed. How nice would it be to be Anthony Bourdain for a month? How happy would I be if I could get paid handsomely for just traveling and eating? Oh, man.

But what really pulls me back to LU? Why do I keep coming back despite the long travel time that results to achy butts?

My paternal grandmother’s family was born and raised in San Fernando City which is just a 15-minute ride from where the annual event is being held. As a child, we would go to the province during summer vacations and I’d be so excited to just spend the next few days out in the sun and waves. I remember being so thrilled to change in to my blue Pikachu bathing suit and run towards the beach with my sisters and cousins–oh the memories! I didn’t go back until a few years back, though, and honestly, I don’t know exactly why. Most probably because of school, dance, and then eventually work.

I don’t know what it is with me and the beach, I just……. I simply don’t care for whitening products if you’d ask me (lol). I don’t mind being under the heat of the sun for hours doing nothing so long as I can feel the sand under my body and the sea in front of my eyes. Hearing the sound of the waves crashing against the shore is music to my ears–it makes me want to join the band. It’s as if the sea is seducing me and inviting me to be one with it. It seems so peaceful and dangerous at the same time and there’s no denying that I love that about it. Being at the beach makes me forget all my worries and fears; it makes me feel like I can leave all my burdens on the shore and watch the waters come after them and devour them whole.

The last three years of attending the event have been extremely fulfilling. The music, crowd, people I came with and the experiences are all unforgettable. I can recount all the happenings from each year but I’d rather include that in another post. For now, here’s some photos taken from my friends’ phones.

 

Leave a Reply

